wonder

“The most beautiful experience we can have is the mysterious. It is the fundamental emotion which stands at the cradle of true art and true science. Whoever does not know it can no longer wonder, no longer marvel, is as good as dead, and his eyes are dimmed.”

– Albert Einstein 

Today I took a solo adventure (a la Professor O’Hara, London style) into The District. Solitary metro ride stocked full of everything from 70’s style plushy seats, to conversation eavesdropping, to people observing at high speeds on a slow Saturday. Perks of traveling alone… getting to see beyond your own bubble of consciousness and slyly enter into others’ lives. As I am writing this I’m second guessing my excessive observation… does this make me creepy? We all do it, AmIRight? Well, regardless of its moral acceptance, observing did inform me today about all kinds of people, relationships.

Renwick Gallery is a hop skip and a jump away from the north lawn of the White House. I am not exaggerating about its proximity… while waiting in line I’m pretty sure I could squint and see Mr. President peering out the windows of the second floor. Quite possibly the only individual in the line without someone to share my experience with, freedom in the day’s possibilities washed over me. I don’t have to wait for anyone! No compromising anyone’s wishes for the day! It’s all mine (well, until my big bro came and met me).

The exhibits were unlike anything I have ever seen before. “Wonder” was certainly a look into the world around us in a new way. Don’t you just love things like that? I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves…

Though we are inherently social beings, a part of me had the idea today that perhaps I could be alone for a while, that I would be completely ok with spending a few weeks or months without much social contact. No distractions, no trying to please people, but just time with me, myself, and God.

Have you had any solo adventures lately? I highly recommend them… many and often.

 

Leave a Reply

