completely inspired

Woke up this morning and BAM. Writing craving.

It’s been hard to write about life back East. Home never feels as interesting as an adventure abroad, though dance continues to amaze and inspire me each day.

Thank the lord for an organization called Now Next Dance. Pangs of wisdom and hope shot into my veins last week and that sacred studio time left me feeling whole again. My mind was turned in ways it’s never turned before out West, but the DC intensive brought me back creatively. We worked with kids for half of the day, sharing our love for movement with them while simultaneously integrating important ideals. The middle school youth saw challenge, curiosity, and resiliency in an entirely new light. Half of our day was then committed to shaping ourselves, working with a Gaga teacher (not Lady Gaga unfortunately, but an Israeli based technique) as well as a choreographer from Brooklyn. That’s where the real magic happened…

“The fact that we are here and that I speak these words is an attempt to break that silence and bridge some of those differences between us, for it is not difference which immobilizes us, but silence. And there are so many silences to be broken.” Audre Lorde

Woah.

As a gal who has spent the last three years struggling with these very thoughts, these very same feelings. A conversation needs to happen about mental health, about sexual violence, about racial inequality… and as artists, we can demand those conversations to happen.

That’s where Dante Brown/Warehouse Dance comes in. I had the esteemed privilege to work on a small portion of his creative process, and the Audre Lorde quote was at its center. I was dancing about something that mattered. Not only to me, but to every person involved. We all have deep rooted connections to the quote, to the content. It’s funny, my thoughts about using yourself to enrich your art two weeks ago were like a preface to this experience in DC.

So, I’m being a little vague about my own personal “deep rooted connections” here simply because I’m not ready for the internet to know all about it yet. My prayer is that I will find the strength in me to make those struggles completely public, but I don’t think I’m ready to be THAT brave just yet.

IMG_7370

I’ll leave you with this: what needs to be said? What needs to be talked about and how can YOU be an integral part of those conversations? Personally, I want to be that gal that can stand up for what others are too afraid to stand for.

Do you?

Leave a Reply

