like real people do

Yesterday’s lunchtime adventures included a mini tour through Little Tokyo, and roaming through all sorts of Japanese trinket shops. I found a wishing tree and a ton of strung lanterns and started to actually feel like I was in another country. My first visit to this place a few weeks ago was too short to be considered a real visit. So glad I got to discover the area once more.

IMG_6889

IMG_6888

Also Yesterday: Chocolate croissants from Porto’s Bakery (apparently a legend around here! check out their amazing bakery menu here), and a free concert on the Santa Monica Pier. That experience was one that I was not expected. We sort of got scooped up by our friends in the program and shuffled down the road to spend an hour trying to find parking (that’s LA for you). Once we did though, our evening consisted of Korean BBQ from the food trucks, discovering the pier at night, and listening to the jams of Real Estate, a New Jersey/Brooklyn based indie band. They killed it. Crowds were HUGE and this particular concert series allowed for people to set up picnics and drinks on the beach. Needless to say the place was packed and looked like a giant beach party. Santa Monica and the West Side seem like the place to be if you’re young and just out of college. SO many hipster-y, trendy people. Cali is cool.

IMG_6903

IMG_6904

Now for today… I am shaking in my Vans at the thought of today. I was offered the opportunity to take a ballet class with the company from the new associate artistic director and retired ballerina extraordinaire. Everything about this situation scares me. I am thinking back to my post about being brave, and when my mom shook some sense into me about taking charge and doing what I love. Well, looks like today is a day I need to be braver than ever.

Things to remember:

  • This isn’t an audition.
  • I don’t have to be perfect.
  • I am not in my late twenties.
  • I did not go to Juilliard, and therefore should cut myself a bit of a break.
  • I am different than these dancers but no less important or valuable!

What an incredible experience. Another reason I am so blessed to be here working where I am.

Today, I could be working at a desk like real people do, but today I am working at the ballet barre for the first time in a long time.

Here we go, Lex.

Leave a Reply

