no peaches, no cream

I think today was the first day that wasn’t all wonderful flowers and roses. Realities of life out here are revealing themselves quickly.

Our speaker in class today was so incredibly negative. Granted, he has been in the entertainment business for almost 30 years. They say this kind of work makes a person bitter, and he was absolutely no exception. Hard enough as it is to come out here and “break in” as they say, he made the feat seem even more impossible. I won’t ramble on for days, but the moral of the story is… nothing is ever going to be entirely peaches and cream. It just isn’t.

BUT. I choose to believe in the power of your mind. Put yourself in a positive place mentally, and you will tackle the most challenging of feats with ease. It’s all about who you are with and what you want to do. If you are in a setting that motivates you and inspires you and excites you, so what if it’s not happy-go-lucky work all the time, right?

On a lighter note, today FINALLY brought celebrity sightings. For those of you Suite Life of Zack and Cody fans out there, Mr. Moseby (Phill Lewis) and Esteban (Adrian R’Mante) made an appearance in my apartment complex clubhouse. Later tonight we had a dinner with alumni from our school that are out here living and working. First of all, what an incredible way to meet people that have a common bond with us. I felt so much more comfortable talking to these people knowing that they virtually were from the same roots as me. At that restaurant, yet another famous face was casually chillin with his family right near our group! John Michael Higgins (Yes Man, The Ugly Truth, Pitch Perfect, Fun with Dick and Jane). Even if I lived here for years I don’t think I would ever get used to seeing celebrities out like that. In order to conceal my West Coast newbie-ness, I refrained from approaching any of these people (regretfully). I did get a creepy picture of the Suite Life peeps though…IMG_6383

I’m beginning to feel at home, and thinking that this is place a major possibility for living in the future. Despite the lack of peaches (so-to-speak), despite the spread-out, busy, traffic-filled confusion, I’m open to it.

Leave a Reply

